Minutes of the August 2012 Faculty Council Meeting Tuesday, August 07, 2012, 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – David Quillen President Elect – Nancy Hardt Treasurer – Frank Bova Vice President – Kevin Brown Secretary – Jean Cibula

Officers Absent:

Past President – Marilyn Dumont-Driscoll

Department Representatives Present:

Steve Anton – Aging Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular Kelli Komro – HOP Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology Vincent Bird – Urology

Absent:

Nicole Dobija - Anesthesiology George Samraj – CHFM James Resnick – MGM Robert Bobilin – PA Program Tom Rowe – Pharmacology Scott Peterson – Radiology Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy Robyn Hoelle – Emergency Med John Hiemenz – Medicine Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology Peter Sayeski – Physiology Saleem Islam – Surgery

Sue McGorray – Biostatistics Cindy Prins - Epidemiology Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics Marguerite Hatch – Pathology Psychiatry – James Byrd

Invited guests: N/A

1. President David Quillen called the meeting to order at approximately 5:02PM

Faculty Council Officers roll call

Approval of the July minutes

- 2. Announcement, Reports, and Old Business
 - a. Chair's Review Process Dr. Frank Bova

Dr. Frank Bova led discussion regarding the department chair evaluation review and its history every year the FC has conducted the Chair evaluation reviews as a request of the Dean for a number of years, providing an opportunity for faculty to evaluate the performance of selected department chairs. In the past, FC spent many hours submitting the evaluation questionnaire, recording and summarizing results as well as faculty comments and then forwarding to the appropriate department chairs and the Dean. Because of the amount of work involved, the FC began working with Human Resource Services (HRS) to come up with a new Chair evaluationreview process.

In January 2012, Jodi Gentry, Director, Human Resource Service (HRS) Office of Training& Organizational Development, spoke to the Faculty Council. Ms. Gentry discussed ways to help maximize a department's leadership development using the UF Management/Leadership Competency Modeland how it can be applied effectively to support leadership in the COM.Discussions and examples were provided from the faculty council group that explored leadership development issues. Based on the FC collaborations, Ms. Gentry used the competency model and the information gathered to synthesizea model questionnaire using a Likert scale. This can be automated for scoring and reporting, which will eliminate the excessive hours spentfacilitating the process and streamlinesthe chair evaluation survey form.

The evaluation process is currently arranged such that each department chair is evaluated every three years. Dr. Bova asked the FC if we wanted to continue with the same chair evaluation cycle, (do another 1/3 of the departments this year), or do 1/3 of departments with a shorter survey going to the other 2/3 just in case there are any problems that need to be identified or to do all the departments once with the new survey/model, and consider a shorter evaluation timeline for departments having problems going forward.

President Quillen proposed a motion to move forward with using the new competency model and the FC was in favor. It was also agreed that everyone will be evaluated this first year. A suggestion was made by President Quillen to get the results of the survey and then talk about how to proceed for the next year. HRS has agreed to send the information out to the departments, analyze the data and provide us with the results.

b. Promotion & Tenure Committee Proposal - President Quillen

President Quillen led discussion regarding the proposal to restructure the Promotion & Tenure Committees.

Currently only tenured faculty in the COM are permitted to vote on the members of the committee and of the proposed 15 members on the committee, 6 are appointed, leaving 9 elected members of which 4 are Jacksonville and 5 are in Gainesville. If you are non-tenured faculty, you donot vote on the committee that will review you.

President Quillen has proposed a request that the Dean's appointed chair of the multi-mission committee be non-tenured (multi-mission) and thatthis information be written into the guidelines. The FC unanimously supported the latest proposed Tenure and Promotion Committee Structure for one year with the following change—the chair of the multi-mission committee appointed by the Dean will be a non-tenured faculty associate or full professor.

The FC also unanimously approved the second motion charging Dean Good and staff to move forward this year with making changes or clarifythe university regulations that will allow all full-time faculty to vote equally for their perspective tenure and promotion committee members.

- 3. Ongoing issues—rewrite the bylaws and update the policy boards.
- 4. The meeting was adjourned at 6:00PM

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday, September 4, 2012 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room

Minutes recorded by Sonya Jones, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula