Minutes of the November 2013 Faculty Council Meeting Tuesday, December 3, 2013, 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – Nancy Hardt Secretary – Jean Cibula Vice President – Kevin Brown Treasurer – Frank Bova Past President- David Quillen

Officers Absent:

President Elect - Caprice Knapp

Department Representatives Present:

Steve Anton – Aging
Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular
Kelli Komro – HOP
Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN
Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics
Elizabeth Brownlee-PA School
Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics
James Byrd – Psychiatry
Suzanne Mastin-Radiology

Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology Larry Fowler-Pathology Brian Law – Pharmacology Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology

Gregory Murad - Neurological Surgery

Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy

Volker Mai – Epidemiology

Department Representatives Absent:

Sonia Deshmukh – Anesthesiology Hajar Kadivar – CHFM John Hiemenz – Medicine Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology Peter Sayeski – Physiology Vincent Bird – Urology Sue McGorray – Biostatistics Thomas Payton-Emergency Medicine Peggy Wallace-Molecular Genetics & Micro Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience Kfir Ben-David – Surgery

Invited Guests: none

- 1. Past President David Quillen called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the November minutes were approved. All members introduced themselves for any new members present at the meeting.
- 2. Dr. David Quillen presented the bylaws to the council with the revisions (minor revisions were also made throughout the meeting) the faculty council voted to approve the new bylaws. The vote was unanimous with 23 votes (1 vote was received via email).
- 3. Dr. Quillen discussed the Faculty Enhancement Opportunity (FEO). More information can be found on the <u>Faculty Council Website</u>. All applications and questions should be emailed to Dr. Quillen at <u>quillen@ufl.edu</u>.
- 4. As a reminder Chair Evaluations will be conducted at the end of January or the beginning of February.
- 5. Dr. Nancy Hardt adjourned the meeting at 6:00PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday, January 7, 2013 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Rachel Westwood, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula