Minutes of the February 4, 2014 Faculty Council Meeting Today is Tuesday, March 4, 2014 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – Nancy Hardt President Elect – Caprice Knapp

Vice President – Kevin Brown Secretary – Jean Cibula Past President- David Quillen

Officers Absent:

Treasurer - Frank Bova

Department Representatives Present:

Steve Anton – Aging Sonia Mehta – Anesthesiology

Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular Hajar Kadivar – CHFM Volker Mai – Epidemiology John Hiemenz – Medicine

Peggy Wallace-Molecular Genetics & Micro Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery

Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology
Larry Fowler-Pathology
Brian Law – Pharmacology
Suzanne Mastin-Radiology

Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology
Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics
Peter Sayeski – Physiology
Kfir Ben-David – Surgery

Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN Elizabeth Brownlee-PA School James Byrd – Psychiatry Vincent Bird – Urology

Department Representatives Absent:

Sue McGorray – Biostatistics

Thomas Payton-Emergency Medicine
Kelli Komro – HOP

Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology

Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics

Invited Guests:

Henry Baker- Molecular Genetics & Micro Kevin Behrns-Surgery

Minutes:

- 1. President Dr. Nancy Hardt called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the January minutes were approved. No new members were present at the meeting so introductions were not necessary.
- 2. Dr. Nancy Hardt mentioned the below reminders
 - a. Chair evaluations- Emails will be sent to departments via email with information about the evaluations. The evals are completely anonymous and will take approx. 10-20 minutes.
 - b. Life Time Achievement nominations need to be made. For a list of past winners see this website: http://facultycouncil.med.ufl.edu/faculty-information/lifetime-achievement-award/
 - c. Promotion and Tenure processes continue to be a priority of the Faculty Council.
 - d. Senior Associate Dean Evaluations- Dr. Caprice Knapp will present a template. This is a new process the Faculty Council is working on developing and continues to be a topic of discussion at each meeting.
 - e. A Chair for the Clinical Policy Board is needed
- 3. Guest speakers Dr. Henry Baker and Dr. Kevin Behrns, Co-Chairs of the Compensation Committee presented the new Faculty Compensation Plan. (Power point is available upon request).
- 4. MGMA & UHC Benchmarks were requested and emailed to the Faculty Council on 2/5/2014. Members were also encouraged to talk with and gain feedback from their departments about the Faculty Compensation Plan and share the information with the Faculty Council at the March meeting.
- 5. Dr. Nancy Hardt adjourned the meeting at 6:00PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday April 1, 2014 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Rachel Westwood, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula.