Minutes of the January 7, 2014 Faculty Council Meeting Today is Tuesday, February 4, 2014 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – Nancy Hardt President Elect – Caprice Knapp Vice President – Kevin Brown Treasurer – Frank Bova

Past President- David Quillen

Officers Absent:

Secretary – Jean Cibula

Department Representatives Present:

Steve Anton – Aging Sonia Mehta – Anesthesiology

Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular Hajar Kadivar – CHFM Volker Mai – Epidemiology Kelli Komro – HOP

John Hiemenz – Medicine Peggy Wallace-Molecular Genetics & Micro Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology

Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience
Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics
Larry Fowler-Pathology

Gregory Murad – Neurology
Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology
Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology
Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics

Brian Law – Pharmacology
Suzanne Mastin-Radiology

Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics
Peter Sayeski – Physiology
Kfir Ben-David – Surgery

Department Representatives Absent:

Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy

Thomas Payton-Emergency Medicine

Elizabeth Brownlee-PA School

Sue McGorray – Biostatistics

Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN

James Byrd – Psychiatry

Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology

Vincent Bird – Urology

Invited Guests: none

- 1. President Dr. Nancy Hardt called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the December minutes were approved. All members introduced themselves for any new members present at the meeting.
- 2. Dr. Nancy Hardt discussed
 - a. Chair evaluations- Emails will be sent to departments via email with information about the evaluations. The evals are completely anonymous and will take approx. 10-20 minutes.
 - b. Life Time Achievement nominations need to be made. For a list of past winners see this website:http://facultycouncil.med.ufl.edu/faculty-information/lifetime-achievement-award/
 - c. Promotion and Tenure processes continue to be a priority of the Faculty Council.
 - d. Senior Associate Dean Evaluations- Dr. Caprice Knapp will present a template during the Feb 4, 2014 meeting. This is a new process the Faculty Council is working on developing and continues to be a topic of discussion at each meeting.
 - e. A Chair for the Clinical Policy Board is needed
- 3. Dr. David Quillen led a brief discussion about UFCOM's promotion guidelines including the AAMC's definition of educational scholarships. The article referenced can be found here: https://www.aamc.org/members/gfa/faculty_vitae/148580/educational_scholarship.html
- 4. Dr. Nancy Hardt adjourned the meeting at 6:00PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday March 4, 2014 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Rachel Westwood, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Nancy Hardt