Minutes of the March 4, 2014 Faculty Council Meeting Today is Tuesday, April 1, 2014 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – Nancy Hardt Past President- David Quillen Vice President – Kevin Brown Secretary – Jean Cibula

Officers Absent:

President Elect – Caprice Knapp Treasurer – Frank Bova

Department Representatives Present:

Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular Volker Mai – Epidemiology

John Hiemenz – Medicine Peggy Wallace-Molecular Genetics & Micro

Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology

Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience

Brian Law – Pharmacology
Kfir Ben-David – Surgery
Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy
James Byrd – Psychiatry

Peter Sayeski – Physiology
Sue McGorray – Biostatistics
Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN
Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology

Vincent Bird – Psychiatry

Vincent Bird – Urology

Thomas Payton-Emergency Medicine

Department Representatives Absent:

Steve Anton – Aging

Kelli Komro – HOP

Hajar Kadivar – CHFM

Larry Fowler-Pathology

Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics

Sonia Mehta – Anesthesiology

Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology

Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics

Elizabeth Brownlee-PA School

Suzanne Mastin-Radiology

Invited Guests:

Maureen Novak- Associate Dean of Medical Education

Minutes:

- 1. President Dr. Nancy Hardt called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the February minutes were approved. No new members were present at the meeting so introductions were not necessary.
- 2. Dr. Nancy Hardt discussed the following
 - a. Compensation Plan- Discussion will continue at the next meeting.
 - b. President Elect Nominations- An email is being sent to the faculty asking for nominations
 - c. UF COM Senate Nominations- An email is being sent to the faculty asking for nominations
 - d. Lifetime Achievement Nominations- The award will be made at the Faculty Recognition reception in April 14. Multiple nominations were made, and after discussion, the following were named this year's recipients.
 - 1. Nicholas Cassisi, D.D.S., M.D.
 - 2. William W. Hauswirth, Ph.D.
 - 3. Frank J. Bova, Ph.D
 - e. Women in Medicine Student Scholarship-Nominations needed by 3/15 (Dr Limacher)
 - f. David Paulus Clinical Excellence Award- the Faculty Council will forward a recommendation from the council to Dr Limacher. This will also be awarded at the Faculty Recognition night.
 - g. COM-Strategic Plan under revision
 - h. Dr. Tyndall and Diversity Committee request for survey
 - Chair evaluations- Emails sent out to the faculty with a better response than last year
 - j. Promotion and Tenure processes continue to be a priority of the Faculty Council.
- 3. Dr. Maureen Novak, Associate Dean of Medical Education- reviewed the progress being made on UFCOM's LCME Accreditation Process. (Power point is available upon request).
- 4. Dr. Nancy Hardt adjourned the meeting at 6:00PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday May 6, 2014 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Rachel Westwood, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula.