Minutes of the April 1, 2014 Faculty Council Meeting Today is Tuesday, May 6, 2014 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

Officers Present:

President – Nancy Hardt Vice President – Kevin Brown

Officers Absent:

President Elect – Caprice Knapp Past President- David Quillen

Department Representatives Present:

Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology Brian Law – Pharmacology Kfir Ben-David – Surgery Emily Weber LeBrun – OBGYN James Byrd – Psychiatry Vincent Bird – Urology Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics Larry Fowler-Pathology Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics

Department Representatives Absent:

Steve Anton – Aging Volker Mai – Epidemiology Sue McGorray – Biostatistics Kelli Komro – HOP Secretary – Jean Cibula

Treasurer – Frank Bova

John Hiemenz – Medicine Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience Peter Sayeski – Physiology Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology Thomas Payton-Emergency Medicine Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology Sonia Mehta – Anesthesiology Suzanne Mastin-Radiology Elizabeth Brownlee-PA School

Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy Peggy Wallace-Molecular Genetics & Micro Hajar Kadivar – CHFM

Invited Guests: None

Minutes:

- 1. President Dr. Nancy Hardt called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the March minutes were approved. No new members were present.
- 2. Dr. Nancy Hardt discussed the following
 - a. Compensation Plan- Our voice was heard regarding the composition of the compensation committee and our dissatisfaction about appeals (as outlined in the plan) if faculty have unresolved issues about their RVU benchmarks. We again proposed a faculty ombudsman since someone outside of the Dean's office would be a more neutral party. There will be a Town Hall meeting on Wednesday April 2 on the subject of the comp plan. Please encourage faculty to participate and air their concerns
 - b. President Elect Nominations- New President Elect is Dr Laurence Solberg
 - c. UF COM Senate Nominations- An email is being sent to the faculty requesting nominations
 - d. Lifetime Achievement Nominations- The award will be made at the Faculty Recognition reception in April 14. Multiple nominations were made, and after discussion, the following were named this year's recipients.
 - 1. Nicholas Cassisi, D.D.S., M.D.
 - 2. William W. Hauswirth, Ph.D.
 - 3. Frank J. Bova, Ph.D
 - e. David Paulus Clinical Excellence Award- Keith Stone
 - f. COM-Strategic Plan under revision
 - g. Dr. Tyndall and Diversity Committee request for survey
 - h. Chair evaluations- Drs. Bova and Quillen are editing
 - i. Promotion and Tenure-) Dr. Good is amenable to AAMC descriptions of scholarship in teaching being incorporated into next year's comp guidelines. Dr. Hardt added AAMC documents to the

agenda for next week and invited Dr. Heather Harrell to come, so both she and Dr. Quillen could chime in based on their experience with P&T last year. The Faculty Senate had an informational item regarding a second APB for the HSC nontenure promotions; both the Dean and Dr Limacher attended. Dr Tuli was able to answer questions regarding the multi mission tracks function and our experience with them. Dean Good asked the FC to encourage the faculty senators to attend the April meeting where the proposal will be voted on. Dr. Miriam Limacher will send us a one page of talking points in support.

3. Dr. Nancy Hardt adjourned the meeting at 6:00PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday June 3, 2014 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Rachel Westwood, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula.