# COM Faculty Council Meeting May 6, 2014 5-6 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

- > Call to Order/Welcome: Nancy Hardt, M.D., Faculty Council President
  - Introduce new reps if there are any
  - Review and approval of April minutes
  - ➤ Introduce FC President Elect –Laurence Solberg, M.D.
  - Report from April 17 Senate meeting
  - Dr. Tyndall and Diversity Committee request for survey (Dr. Tyndall will attend June meeting)
  - Roles of the Faculty Council (Dean Good will attend June meeting)
- ➤ Guest Speaker-COM Strategic Plan: Dr. R. Whit Curry, Jr., M.D. Department of Community Health and Family Medicine

#### Continued Discussion:

- Promotion, Tenure, Benefits
- Chair Evaluations-David Quillen, M.D.
- Sr Assoc Dean Evaluations-Caprice Knapp, Ph.D.
- Compensation Plan

## Reports from Policy Boards Chairs:

- Faculty Welfare-Frank Bova, M.D.
- Research/Basic Science-Kevin Brown, Ph.D.
- Clinical- (new chair needed)
- Research/Basic Science-(Chair needed when Dr. Brown leaves)

## > Term Rotation of Officers and Representatives by Department ending in 2014:

## Representatives-Summer 2011 – Spring 2014

Aging- Steven Anton, Ph.D.

Biochemistry-Kevin Brown, Ph.D.

Biostatistics- Susan McGorray, Ph.D.

Emergency Medicine-Robyn Hoelle, M.D.

Epidemiology- Volker Mai, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Medicine- John Hiemenz, M.D.

Neuroscience- Susan Semple-Rowland, Ph.D.

Neurosurgery- Gregory Murad, M.D.

Ophthalmology- Sanford Boye, MS

Pediatrics- Carolyn Carter, M.D.

Physiology- Peter Sayeski, Ph.D.

#### Officers-Summer 2013-Spring 2014

President- Nancy Hardt, M.D. (staying an extra 6 months)

President Elect- Caprice Knapp, Ph.D. (moving)

Past President- David Quillen, M.D. (staying an extra 6 months)

Vice President- Kevin Brown, Ph.D. (term complete)