# Minutes of the November 2014 Faculty Council Meeting Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

# **Officers Present:**

President – Nancy Hardt Vice President – Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Past President – David Quillen

# **Officers Absent:**

Treasurer – Frank Bova

### **Department Representatives Present:**

Thomas Buford – Aging & Geriatric Research Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy David Quillen – CHFM Ann Church – Dermatology Robert Cook – Epidemiology Stephanie Staras – Health Outcomes & Policy John Hiemenz – Medicine Peggy Wallace – Molecular Genetics & Microbiology Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Jada Lewis – Neuroscience

# Department Representatives Absent:

Sonia Mehta – Anesthesiology Thomas Yang – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics Thomas Payton – Emergency Medicine Diego Rincon-Limas – Neurology Qiuhong Li – Ophthalmology Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology Elizabeth Brownlee – PA School Larry Fowler – Pathology Byron Petersen – Pediatrics Brian Law – Pharmacology & Therapeutics Peter Sayeski – Physiology Richard Holbert – Psychiatry Kfir Ben-David – Surgery

Emily Weber LeBrun – Obstetrics & Gynecology Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology Suzanne Mastin - Radiology Vincent Bird – Urology

#### Invited Guests: None

#### Minutes:

- 1. President-elect Laurence Solberg called the meeting to order at 5:00PM; the November minutes were approved. New FC representatives introduced themselves.
  - a. Dr. Laurence Solberg discussed an email request from Dr. Stephen Sugrue, Senior Associate Dean for Research Affairs regarding the identification of a FC representative to serve on two very important review committees. Dr. Sugrue suggested Quihong Li from Ophthalmology as a possibility for the Research Opportunity Seed Fund review committee and Thomas Yang as a possibility for the 2015 Maren Postdoctoral Award review committee. After discussion Dr. Jada Lewis and Dr. Peggy Wallace indicated they would both like to participate on the review committees. Dr. Sugrue.
  - b. Dr. David Quillen discussed the new tenure and promotion oversight/governance committee. The next step in the process is for the FC officers to discuss the draft document with Dr. Limacher. Then the document will be presented to the COM Executive Committee, possibly in December.
  - c. Dr. Quillen reported that the Faculty Council will go ahead with the evaluation of Senior Associate Deans using the UF Leadership Competency Model that FC approved at the November meeting. Chair evaluations will be executed in February 2015 and the Senior Associate Dean Evaluations will be conducted in April 2015. After results of the Senior Associate Dean evaluations are compiled, it will be decided if the process was effective and provides meaningful data and if changes are needed to the document to enhance data collection.
  - d. Dr. Quillen announced that applications for Faculty Enhancement Opportunity (FEO) awards will be due at the end of February. This is a UF project to support and enhance professional development opportunities for the faculty. Dr. Quillen will conduct a Faculty Workshop where he will go through the FEO application in detail. Dr. Quillen asked FC reps to share this information with their faculty and encourage any interested faculty to attend the Workshop and apply for an FEO award.

President Elect – Laurence Solberg Secretary – Jean Cibula

- e. Dr. Solberg indicated that as he takes over as President of Faculty Council, elections will need to be held for a new President-Elect. He will send a message to College of Medicine faculty asking for nominations in January 2015; then an election will be held.
- 2. Executive Committee Report Nancy Hardt, M.D.
  - a. Dr. Hardt reported that the Ombuds proposal was presented to the College of Medicine Executive Committee on November 20, 2014. Although a vote was not taken at the meeting, the Chairs were supportive of the proposal with the right parameters. Chairs thought this position might help stave off grievances since the Ombuds would act as a mediator in disputes. It will be made clear to faculty that there are two separate processes: the Grievance process or the Ombuds and they must choose one or the other. The proposal now has to be vetted by both UF and Shands attorneys. The FC officers will discuss the progress of the proposal with Dean Good at the next Dean's Luncheon to continue to move this forward. It will go back to the Executive Committee for a vote after comments from both legal departments are received. Dr. Solberg indicated that Dr. Limacher has proposed that all future Grievance Committees for the College of Medicine include a member of the Faculty Council. After discussion, a motion was made, seconded, and passed unanimously that a Faculty Council representative will be included as a member on all COM Grievance Committees.
  - b. Dr. Hardt also reported that at the November SUF Medical Staff Quality and Operations Committee meeting there was a discussion regarding Advanced Directives. A new Advanced Directives Brochure has been developed and is given to patients by the Shands Admissions Office. This is a nice, but detailed brochure that explains to patients their options, the process, and provides forms they can fill out. The Advance Directives Brochure can be accessed on the UF Health website at <u>https://ufhealth.org/sites/default/files/media/Advance-directives/15-0214-</u> <u>1-JUL14Version-ENGLISH.pdf</u>.
- 3. Dr. Solberg reported that benefits were discussed at the last Dean's Luncheon. There would have to be changes made to Florida law for clinical and basic science faculty to have the same benefits. There was discussion regarding the differences in benefits. Dr. Hardt suggested that Jan Eller, Associate Dean for Administrative Services be invited to attend a future FC meeting to discuss faculty benefits.
- 4. Dr. Peter Sayeski is a member of the College of Medicine Compensation Committee. He reported the Compensation Committee has not met in three months. The next scheduled meeting will be held in January.
- 5. Dr. Solberg thanked Dr. Nancy Hardt for her service as President of the Faculty Council for the last 18 months and presented her with a plaque of appreciation. Faculty Council members thanked Dr. Hardt with a round of applause.
- 6. Dr. Laurence Solberg adjourned the meeting at 6:00 PM.

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday, January 6, 2015 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Debbie Hodge, Administrative Assistant and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula.