Minutes of the February 5, 2019 UF Gainesville COM Faculty Council Meeting

Officers Present:

President – Alice Rhoton-Vlasak President Elect – Emily Weber LeBrun Vice President – Albert Robinson, III

Department Representatives Present:

Kimberly Sibille – Aging & Geriatric Res. Matthew Merritt – Biochem. & Molec. Biology Isabel Longo – Dermatology Nicholas Maldonado – Emergency Medicine Melanie Hagen– Medicine alternate Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery Kathleen Green – Obstetrics & Gynecology

Department Representatives Absent:

Yi Qiu – Anatomy & Cell Biology Sonia Deshmukh – Anesthesiology Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics Tanya Anim – CHFM Kelly Gurka – Epidemiology Jiang Bian – Health Outcomes & Biomedical Informatics Lizi Wu – Molec. Genetics & Microbiology Anna Khanna – Neurology Past President – Lauren Solberg Secretary – Jean Cibula Treasurer – Steven Swarts

Gibran Khurshid – Ophthalmology-by phone Hernan Prieto – Orthopaedics & Rehab. Luis Fernando Seguias – Pediatrics Abdel Alli – Physiology Steven Swarts – Radiation Oncology Priya Sharma – Radiology-by phone

Andrew Maurer– Neuroscience Natalie Silver – Otolaryngology Jason Fromm – PA School Xiuli Liu– Pathology Gonzalo Torres – Pharmacology & Therapeutics Richard Holbert – Psychiatry Jose Trevino – Surgery Romano DeMarco– Urology

Minutes:

- 1. The Committee members met at 4:45pm to tour the two potential spaces for the new faculty lounge.
- 2. President Alice Rhoton-Vlasak called the meeting to order at 5:04 PM.
- 3. Introduction of new or substitute department representatives none noted.
- 4. The January 2019 Faculty Council meeting minutes were approved.
- 5. Executive Committee (report from January 17, 2019 meeting) Alice Rhoton-Vlasak, M.D.
 - a. The current Florida Medical Association (FMA) President, Dr. Corey Howard, visited campus last month and met with COM Leadership.
 - b. Dr. Rolf Renne and Dr. Sobha Jaishankar discussed the current objectives of COM Office of Research Working Group, noted below:
 - Further investigate any potential Conflicts of Interest for COM faculty members
 - Review the development and preparation of grants
 - Assess internal seed grants, as well as larger collaborative grants
 - Determine what services are needed and what resources can be put into place to help advance research
 - c. A reminder was provided about the upcoming Lifetime Achievement Awards that will be presented at the Spring Faculty Appreciation Reception on April 10, 2019. Nominations are currently being accepted.

- 6. Faculty Senate (report from December 13, 2018 meeting) Lauren Solberg, J.D.
 - a. The Provost discussed the Administrative Memo sent by Dr. David Norton on December 3, 2018 regarding non-resident tuition waivers for research assistants. After an administrative review found that UF is in the bottom ten of tuition charges in sponsored projects for out of state graduate students, a new policy was put in place. The plan is to raise graduate student tuition for non-Florida resident research assistants about 10% annually until it reaches approximately \$18,000 per year, which may still fall below market rate. Any impacts on current grants will be addressed by Deans and Department Chairs.
- 7. Curriculum Committee (report from December 11, 2018 meeting) Nick Maldanado, M.D.
 - a. Dr. Maureen Novak gave an LCME update. She requested that faculty who are working with students during their clerkship rotations assure that students complete their required "Observe History & Physical Exams" as early as possible in each rotation. This will satisfy the LCME Standard requiring that students have these completed within six weeks, and will allow students to get their final grades for the clerkship in a timely manner.
 - b. The following electives were approved: Telemedicine through the Department of Psychiatry, Outpatient Hematology/Oncology, and Exercise in Medicine.
 - c. A Medical Education Retreat will be held on February 12, 2019.
- 8. CFAS update Alice Rhoton-Vlasak, M.D. (Senior CFAS representative)
 The next annual CFAS meeting will be held in Atlanta, GA from April 4-6, 2019.
- 9. Research Task Force Report Kim Sibille, Ph.D., Chair
 - -The Research Task Force has met a few times and there have been a few Science Strolls, although there has been a decline in the number of people participating in the Strolls. The Faculty Council members suggested alternatives, including varying activities and times of events.
- 10. Search Committee Updates -

-There are 3 finalists for the position of COM Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development.

- 11. To date, there have been 5 nominations received for the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards. The deadline for nominations is February 14, 2019. The Faculty Council will vote on this at next month's meeting and the awards will be presented at the Spring Reception on April 10, 2019.
- 12. <u>Departmental Snapshot of Neurosurgery</u> Gregory Murad, M.D.
- 13. Update on Chair Evaluations 2019 Lauren Solberg, J.D.
 - a. The Faculty Council Officers talked with the Dean and got his feedback on the usefulness of the data from last year's Chair Evaluations. The Dean found the data very helpful. The same format will be used this year for the evaluations, with the exception of the third "free comment" text box, which will be removed. The evaluations will be sent out in April or May.
- 14. A vote was held (by ballot) on the location of new Faculty Lounge. The vote count will be provided as a recommendation from the Faculty Council to the Dean following this meeting. The final decision about the location of the faculty lounge will be made by the Dean and COM Leadership.
- 15. President Rhoton-Vlasak adjourned the meeting at 6:01pm.
- 16. Announcements:
 - a. Call for Lifetime Achievement Award nominations: deadline February 14 (send to Dr. Swarts <u>sqswarts@ufl.edu</u>). Re-nominations are permissible, but materials should be updated. <u>https://facultycouncil.med.ufl.edu/faculty-information/lifetime-achievement-award/</u>

- b. The UF College of Medicine Wellness Survey is active. Please encourage faculty to complete this anonymous survey. Their link should be in their inbox.
- c. Save the Dates:
 - o Wednesday, April 10, 2019: Spring Faculty Appreciation Reception, HMEB
 - o Medical Education Week: March 11-14, 2019
 - o Patient Safety and Quality Week: March 18-22, 2019
 - Diversity Week: April 2-7, 2019
- d. Science Stroll: 4th Friday of the month- meet at the Biomedical Science/College of Nursing Circle at 11:45 AM for networking and fresh air!
- e. Dr. Keith Stone, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, is the founding Ombuds for the UF College of Medicine. The goal of the newly established Office of the Ombuds for Faculty is to resolve conflict informally whenever possible. For information on how to contact the UFCOM Office of the Ombuds for Faculty, please visit: http://ombuds.med.ufl.edu/.

The next Faculty Council Meeting will be held Tuesday, March 5, 2019 @ 5PM in the Medical Science Building, Room M-112.

Minutes recorded by Melissa Liverman, Administrative Assistant, and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula and Dr. Alice Rhoton-Vlasak.