Minutes of the July 2, 2019 UF Gainesville COM Faculty Council Meeting

Officers Present:

President – Emily Weber LeBrun Vice President – Sonia Deshmukh Mehta Past President – Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Secretary – Jean Cibula Treasurer – Steven Swarts

Ryan Thomas – Surgery

Officers Absent:

President Elect – Albert Robinson, III

Department Representatives Present:

Rene Opavsky – Anatomy & Cell Biology Matthew Andoniadis – Anesthesiology Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics (by phone) Ku-Lang Chang– CHFM Addie Walker– Dermatology Nicholas Maldonado – Emergency Medicine Dianne Goede– Medicine Jeremy McIntrye– Neuroscience Hernan Prieto – Orthopaedics & Rehab. Marie Rivera-Zengotita– Pathology Abdel Alli – Physiology Mariam Rahmani– Psychiatry Steven Swarts – Radiation Oncology Priya Sharma – Radiology

Department Representatives Absent:

Kimberly Sibille – Aging & Geriatric Res.

Matthew Merritt – Biochem. & Molec. Biology
Kelly Gurka – Epidemiology
Jiang Bian – Health Outcomes & Biomedical
Informatics
Lizi Wu – Molec. Genetics & Microbiology
Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery
Anna Khanna – Neurology

Kathleen Green – Obstetrics & Gynecology Gibran Khurshid – Ophthalmology Natalie Silver – Otolaryngology Petar Breitinger – PA School Luis Fernando Seguias – Pediatrics Gonzalo Torres – Pharmacology & Therapeutics Romano DeMarco– Urology

Guest:

Mark Segal, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development

Invited Speaker: Keith Stone, M.D., University of Florida College of Medicine Faculty Ombudsman

Minutes:

- 1. President Emily Weber LeBrun called the meeting to order at 5:01pm.
- 2. Introduction of new department representatives Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - Dr. Rene Opavsky was elected for Anatomy & Cell Biology
 - Dr. Matthew Andoniadis was elected for Anesthesiology
 - Dr. Ku-Lang Chang was elected for Community Health & Family Medicine
 - Dr. Addie Walker was elected for Dermatology
 - Dr. Lizi Wu was re-elected for Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
 - Dr. Natalie Silver was re-elected for Otolaryngology
 - Dr. Marie Rivera-Zengotita was elected for Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
 - Dr. Mariam Rahmani was elected for Psychiatry
 - Dr. Ryan Thomas was elected for Surgery
 - Mr. Petar Breitinger was elected for the School of Physician Assistants
- 3. The June 2019 Faculty Council meeting minutes were approved.

- 4. Invited Speaker: Keith Stone, M.D., University of Florida College of Medicine Faculty Ombudsman
 - Dr. Stone was appointed the UF College of Medicine founding Ombuds in January of 2017 and began seeing visitors in March of that year.
 - The COM Ombuds provides a confidential environment for presentation of questions and concerns; helps identify alternative options and appropriate resources for conflict resolution; explains University policies and procedures, including information resolution and grievance options; offers an impartial perspective; assists with early strategizing to minimize potential for escalation of conflicts; and identifies patterns of emerging issues and recommends University or COM policy review, as warranted.
 - University policies and procedures are available for reference during visitor appointments. In addition, resources available to the COM Ombuds from the main campus include the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, the Vice President for Human Resource Services, the Title IX Coordinator, and the main campus Ombuds. Health Science Center/COM resources are available from the offices of the Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development, the Senior Associate Dean for Research Affairs, the Executive Director of Finance and Administration, and the Employee Relations Manager of Human Resource Services.
 - To maintain confidentiality, appointments with the COM Ombuds are only made by email (<u>stonek@ufl.edu</u>). No details should be provided other than a request for an appointment, along with contact information. Dr. Stone will follow-up to schedule an appointment, based on the faculty member's availability, Monday through Friday, 8am 5pm.
- 5. <u>Departmental Snapshot of Medicine</u>: Dianne Goede, M.D., Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine

6. Committee Reports:

- Executive Committee meeting Alice Rhoton-Vlasak, M.D.
 - There was discussion regarding a new COM initiative, the <u>Regional Physician Network</u> (RPN). Physicians in this network will be UF TEAMS employees with strictly clinical duties, which allows more agility to hiring faster and separating faster. Adding a new profile of Staff Physician/Regional Practioner will allow UF Health to acquire practices that will expand their presence into extended regions and potentially create referrals back to UF for subspecialty care.
 - o Physician benefits include:
 - SIP/Sovereign Immunity and UPL eligible
 - State health insurance
 - Distinct compensation plan; base salaries will be benchmarked to those in private practice, specific to the specialty, and production will be based on that expectation
 - Existing Halifax Health and Sacred Heart faculty providers are not initially migrating to RPN, but new hires would follow the TEAMS approach
- Faculty Senate no report
- Curriculum Committee no report
- Compensation Committee no report
- CFAS update no report
- Research Task Force no report
- Faculty Lounge Update no report

• Response rates for recent Chair evaluations – to be discussed at August meeting

7. Old Business:

- A college-wide election for Faculty Council Vice President was held from June 14-28, 2019. Dr. Sonia Deshmukh Mehta has been elected to serve in this role.
- 8. President Weber LeBrun adjourned the meeting at 6:01 pm.

Announcements:

To schedule an appointment with the UFCOM Ombudsman for faculty, Dr. Keith Stone, email
your request to stonek@ufl.edu, and simply include your name and contact information. To
maintain confidentiality, use email only to schedule appointments.

The next Faculty Council Meeting will be held Tuesday, August 6, 2019 @ 5PM in the Medical Science Building, Room M-112.

Minutes recorded by Melissa Liverman, Administrative Assistant, and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula and Dr. Emily Weber LeBrun.