Minutes of the January 7, 2020 UF Gainesville COM Faculty Council Meeting

Officers Present:

President – Emily Weber LeBrun Vice President – Sonia Deshmukh Mehta Past President – Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Secretary – Jean Cibula Treasurer – Steven Swarts

Officers Absent:

President Elect - Albert Robinson, III

Department Representatives Present:

Kimberly Sibille – Aging & Geriatric Res.

Matthew Andoniadis – Anesthesiology

Matthew Merritt – Biochem. & Molec. Biology

Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics (by phone)

Ku-Lang Chang– CHFM (by phone)

Addie Walker– Dermatology (by phone)

Kelly Gurka – Epidemiology (by phone)

Dianne Goede– Medicine

Lizi Wu – Molec. Genetics & Microbiology

Anna Khanna – Neurology

Gibran Khurshid – Ophthalmology (by phone)

Hernan Prieto – Orthopaedics & Rehab.

Natalie Silver – Otolaryngology
Petar Breitinger – PA School
Marie Rivera-Zengotita– Pathology
Luis Fernando Seguias – Pediatrics
Daniel Wesson – Pharmacology &
Therapeutics
Abdel Alli – Physiology
Mariam Rahmani– Psychiatry
Steven Swarts – Radiation Oncology
Priya Sharma – Radiology (by phone)
Ryan Thomas – Surgery
Romano De Marco– Urology

Department Representatives Absent:

Rene Opavsky – Anatomy & Cell Biology Nicholas Maldonado – Emergency Medicine Jiang Bian – Health Outcomes & Biomedical Informatics Ashley Ghiaseddin – Neurological Surgery Andrew Maurer– Neuroscience Kathleen Green–Obstetrics & Gynecology

Guests:

Mark Segal, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development Ellen Zimmermann, M.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs Keith Stone, M.D., College of Medicine Faculty Ombuds

Minutes:

- 1. Past-President Alice Rhoton-Vlasak called the meeting to order at 5:07pm.
- 2. The December 2019 Faculty Council meeting minutes were approved.
- 3. Departmental Snapshot of Urology Romano DeMarco, M.D.
- 4. Departmental Snapshot of Physiology & Functional Genomics Abdel Alli, Ph.D.
- 5. Committee Reports:
 - Executive Committee meeting Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - A COM Leadership Retreat was held on December 19, 2019, in lieu of the monthly Executive Committee meeting.
 - The retreat focused on three major topics, noted below. Collaborative working Groups will be formed.
 - Topic 1: Strengthening the academic/research missions

- How to support large programs and research programs
- Supporting team science
- o How big should the graduate student enterprise be?
- Topic 2: The clinical/education enterprise
 - Overview of the UF Health system and future plans for regional expansion
- Topic 3: People
 - How do we engage and have a healthy and committed faculty pool?
- Research Task Force Kimberly Sibille, Ph.D.
 - An email is forthcoming that will summarize the Task Force initiatives for 2020, and note the accomplishments for 2019.
 - There will be a volunteer opportunity for COM faculty who plan to attend the COM Research Poster Session on February 25, 2020 to stop-by three posters many of whom are students, residents, post-docs and graduates who otherwise may not have their posters visited. This will give faculty the chance to visit with the individual presenter for a few minutes to increase rapport and feedback, and offer reinforcement for their efforts.
 - Additional members are needed to serve on the Research Task Force, particularly clinical faculty who are looking for opportunities to provide input to improve the research interface.
 - An announcement regarding a funding initiative for COM faculty called "Bolster Bucks" will come out in the Spring. Members of the task force will be asked to provide brief reviews of submissions for this program.
- 6. Faculty Lounge Emily Weber-Lebrun, M.D.
 - The Faculty Lounge is almost ready to open. Dr. Weber is working with the UF Office of Planning, Design and Construction to arrange for COM faculty artwork to be displayed in the lounge. She's hoping to get artwork of different mediums and non-standard sizes such as tapestries or sculptures, in addition to photography. An Open House will be held this spring.
- 7. COM Dean's Search Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - Senior Vice President for Health Affairs, Dr. David Nelson, has convened the search committee for the COM Dean. An Open Faculty Forum will be held on January 10, 2020 to allow faculty members to provide feedback on important opportunities and challenges in the COM over the next 5-10 years, and share characteristics they'd like to see in the next Dean.
- 8. Timeline for Lifetime Achievement Award nominations Steven Swarts, Ph.D.
 - The Call for Nominations was emailed to COM faculty on January 7, 2020, and will close on February 14, 2020 (end of business day)
 - Nomination packets will be sent to Faculty Council members on February 18, 2020 for review prior to the March meeting
 - Selection of awardees will occur at the March 3, 2020 Faculty Council meeting
 - Awardees will be announced at the COM Spring Faculty Appreciation Reception on April 1, 2020
- 9. Chair Evaluations Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.

- There are plans for future COM chair evaluations to be outsourced to a company who
 processes evaluations for various academic medical centers. Dr. Weber is working with this
 company and has relayed the goals of assuring that faculty voices are heard, while preserving
 the anonymity and protection of the individuals.
- The final process will be reviewed by the Faculty Council before the evaluations are sent out in May.
- Dr. Tyndall plans to integrate executive coaching with this system for those that may need it. He also plans to require six months of executive coaching upon hire of any new chair.
- 10. Teaching Evaluations Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D. and Matt Merritt, Ph.D.
 - After discussion, it was decided that Dr. Weber will arrange a meeting with Dr. Mark Segal, Dr. Matt Merritt & Dr. Sylvain Dore to outline a plan for addressing any changes to the current Teaching Evaluations in the COM, including aspects of P&T.
- 11. President Weber LeBrun adjourned the meeting at 6:12pm.

Announcements:

- All faculty are welcome to attend any Faculty Council meetings
- To schedule an appointment with the UFCOM Ombudsman for faculty, Dr. Keith Stone, email your request to stonek@ufl.edu, and simply include your name and contact information. To maintain confidentiality use email only to schedule appointments.
- Have questions about doing IMEs, relationships with pharma reps or something else? Conflict
 of interest guidelines and contact info are available at https://bridge.ufhealth.org/college-of-medicine-compliance/conflict-of-interest/ Changes are ongoing. Please contact their office if
 there are questions. The new link is: https://ufolio.compliance.ufl.edu/.

The next Faculty Council Meeting will be held Tuesday, February 4, 2020 @ 5PM in the Medical Science Building, Room M-112.

Minutes recorded by Melissa Liverman, Administrative Assistant, and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula and Dr. Emily Weber LeBrun.