Minutes of the June 2, 2020 UF Gainesville COM Faculty Council Meeting (held via Zoom)

Officers Present:

President – Emily Weber LeBrun President Elect – Albert Robinson, III Past President –Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Vice President – Sonia Deshmukh Mehta Secretary – Jean Cibula Treasurer – Steven Swarts

Department Representatives Present:

Shinichi Someya – Aging & Geriatric Res.
Rene Opavsky – Anatomy & Cell Biology
Matthew Andoniadis – Anesthesiology
Matthew Merritt – Biochem. & Molec. Biology
Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics
Addie Walker– Dermatology
Kelly Gurka – Epidemiology
Jiang Bian – Health Outcomes & Biomedical
Informatics
Dianne Goede– Medicine

Lizi Wu – Molec. Genetics & Microbiology Ashley Ghiaseddin – Neurological Surgery Ekaterina Lobanova – Ophthalmology Hernan Prieto – Orthopaedics & Rehab.
Natalie Silver – Otolaryngology
Petar Breitinger – PA School
Marie Rivera-Zengotita– Pathology
Luis Fernando Seguias – Pediatrics
Daniel Wesson – Pharmacology &
Therapeutics
Abdel Alli – Physiology
Mariam Rahmani– Psychiatry
Steven Swarts – Radiation Oncology
Priya Sharma – Radiology
Ryan Thomas – Surgery

Department Representatives Absent:

Ku-Lang Chang- CHFM Nicholas Maldonado - Emergency Medicine Andrew Maurer- Neuroscience Anna Khanna – Neurology Kathleen Green–Obstetrics & Gynecology Romano De Marco– Urology

Guests:

Ellen Zimmermann, M.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Development Mark Segal, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development

Minutes:

- 1. President Emily Weber LeBrun called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.
- 2. The May 2020 Faculty Council meeting minutes were approved.
- 3. Dr. Laurel Blakemore was recently elected the President-Elect of Faculty Council. She attended today's meeting and introduced herself to everyone.

4. Committee Reports:

- Executive Committee report Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - Jeremy Sibiski reported that the COM is expecting significant impacts to the bottom line as of April 30, 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Departments were asked to reduce overall expenses, and a hiring freeze is in effect until further notice. Capital requests must be approved by the Dean and the Provost. TeleHealth has remained a valuable asset, with several insurance companies extending payment of TeleHealth visits through the end of the year.
 - Dr. Marvin Dewar noted that the automatic calculated incentive portion of the compensation plan for FY20-21 has been suspended due to fiscal exigency. The COM does plan to develop a process to recognize those who exceeded all benchmarks, despite the pandemic. The overall COM Compensation Plan will soon be revised and

updated.

- Update on Chair Searches Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - A selection has been made regarding the Chair of the Department of Pathology, Immunology & Laboratory Medicine. An official announcement of the appointment of the new Chair will be forthcoming.
 - The chair search for the Department of Epidemiology is almost complete. The new chair should be announced soon.
- Reminder for elections for departmental representatives Jean Cibula, M.D.
 - o If your Faculty Council term is expiring in June, your department will need to hold an election (there are no term limits, so you may be re-elected). Reminders will be sent to you and your chair. Representatives from the following departments will be rotating off in the Spring of 2020: Aging, Biochemistry, Biostatistics, Dermatology, Emergency Medicine, Epidemiology, Medicine, Neuroscience, Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology, Pediatrics and Physiology.
- 5. Reopening of Research Enterprise Steven Swarts, Ph.D.
 - The UF Office of Research announced its Resumption Plan on May 15, 2020.
- 6. Chair Evaluations Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - A preliminary release of the department chair survey from Linkage was recently completed for the departments of Dermatology, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology, and Otolaryngology. The response rate within those departments has been approximately 50-60% within the first two weeks. The survey is planned to be released to the other departments on June 1, 2020. Please encourage faculty members in your departments to complete the evaluation, and to complete it in a timely manner. The Faculty Council President reminded the representatives to have their faculty members also check their Spam folder to find the Chair's evaluation in case the Linkage survey was inadvertently moved into that folder from their Inbox folder. The Faculty Council Officers would appreciate feedback on what worked and what didn't work with the new survey format.
 - If the survey goes well this year, the Council may consider expanding the survey to include Division Chiefs and Senior Associate Deans.
- 7. This is the last meeting with Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D. as President; Albert Robinson, III, M.D., will begin the 2020-2021 COM Faculty Council sessions at the July 7 meeting. The Council presented a plaque to Dr. Weber LeBrun in appreciation for her outstanding leadership and service as President over the last year.
- 8. President Weber LeBrun adjourned the meeting at 6:00 pm.

Announcements:

- Check out the Faculty Council webpage for links to resources in the community for wellness and practical tips https://facultycouncil.med.ufl.edu/.
- All faculty are welcome to attend any Faculty Council meetings
- Check out the Faculty Lounge in M-125. It's a place to meet colleagues, a place to roost between meetings and a quiet place to work. Yes, you can physically distance in the lounge.
- To schedule an appointment with the UFCOM Ombudsman for faculty, Dr. Keith Stone, email your request to stonek@ufl.edu, and simply include your name and contact information. To maintain confidentiality, use email only to schedule appointments.

The next Faculty Council Meeting will be held Tuesday, July 7, 2020 @ 5PM.

Minutes recorded by Dr. Albert Robinson,	Melissa Liverman, III.	Administrative Ass	sistant, and edited by	y Dr. Jean Cibula and