Minutes of the May 5, 2020 UF Gainesville COM Faculty Council Meeting (held via Zoom)

Officers Present:

President – Emily Weber LeBrun Vice President – Sonia Deshmukh Mehta President Elect – Albert Robinson, III Secretary – Jean Cibula Past President –Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Treasurer – Steven Swarts

Department Representatives Present:

Rene Opavsky – Anatomy & Cell Biology Gibran Khurshid – Ophthalmology Matthew Andoniadis – Anesthesiology Hernan Prieto – Orthopaedics & Rehab. Arlene Naranjo – Biostatistics Natalie Silver – Otolaryngology Marie Rivera-Zengotita- Pathology Ku-Lang Chang- CHFM Addie Walker- Dermatology Luis Fernando Seguias – Pediatrics Kelly Gurka – Epidemiology Daniel Wesson - Pharmacology & Dianne Goede- Medicine Therapeutics Lizi Wu – Molec. Genetics & Microbiology Abdel Alli – Physiology Ashley Ghiaseddin – Neurological Surgery Mariam Rahmani- Psychiatry Sylvain Dore- Neuroscience Steven Swarts – Radiation Oncology Anna Khanna – Neurology Priya Sharma – Radiology Ryan Thomas – Surgery Kathleen Green-Obstetrics & Gynecology Romano De Marco- Urology

Department Representatives Absent:

Kimberly Sibille – Aging & Geriatric Res.

Matthew Merritt – Biochem. & Molec. Biology
Nicholas Maldonado – Emergency Medicine

Jiang Bian – Health Outcomes & Biomedical Informatics
Petar Breitinger – PA School

Guests:

Chris Hass, Ph.D., UF Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs Ellen Zimmermann, M.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Development Mark Segal, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development

Minutes:

- 1. President Emily Weber LeBrun called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.
- 2. The April 2020 Faculty Council meeting minutes were approved.
- 3. Introduction: Chris Hass, Ph.D., UF Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs
 - Dr. Hass serves as a member of the Provost's administrative team managing the university's tenure and promotion process, providing leadership for university-level faculty development efforts, managing faculty personnel issues, and serving as the Office of the Provost's representative for university governance.

4. Committee Reports:

- Update on Chair Searches Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - The Pathology Chair Search is complete and the new department chair will be formally announced soon.
- Chair Evaluations Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - Or. Weber discussed the Department Chair Survey Design document provided by Linkage for review prior to launching the chair evaluations. She will send the document to the council following this meeting. Suggested revisions should be submitted to her within the next 24-48 hours, as Linkage will be sending out the survey to the three pilot

departments during the week of May 11, 2020. The remaining departments will receive the survey at the end of the month.

- Faculty Lounge art Emily Weber LeBrun, M.D.
 - Dr. Weber displayed slides of the faculty artwork during the meeting. She has received 34 submissions so far. Depending on the total number of submissions, size and media, rotating displays may be used to highlight submitted works.
- Curriculum Committee Dianne Goede, M.D.
 - COVID-19 disruptions have resulted in numerous curriculum changes: allowing third year students on their final rotations to choose pass/fail rather than traditional letter grading; multiple new electives have been developed and utilized for students while they are off clinical rotations. For full details, refer to the Curriculum Committee minutes online at: https://education.med.ufl.edu/medical-students/curriculum/curriculum-committee/minutes/.
- Elections: Faculty Senate and Faculty Council Jean Cibula, M.D.
 - UF Faculty Senate elections were held April 15-29, 2020 for the term beginning in August 2020 (for a 3-year term). The following COM faculty were elected to serve on as COM representatives on the UF Faculty Senate:
 - Lauren Berkow, M.D.
 - Dipankar Gupta, M.D.
 - Marjorie Montanez-Wiscovich, M.D., Ph.D.
 - Christopher Reb, D.O.
 - Erich Wyckoff, M.D.

Additional information can be found on the website: http://senate.ufl.edu.

- If your Faculty Council term is expiring in June, your department will need to hold an
 election (there are no term limits, so you may be re-elected). Reminders will be sent to
 you and your chair. Representatives from the following departments will be rotating off
 in the Spring of 2020: Aging, Biochemistry, Biostatistics, Dermatology, Emergency
 Medicine, Epidemiology, Medicine, Neuroscience, Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology,
 Pediatrics and Physiology.
- 5. Departmental snapshot of Biostatistics Arlene Naranjo, Ph.D.
- 6. Departmental snapshot of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology Lizi Wu, Ph.D.
- 7. President Weber LeBrun adjourned the meeting at 6:09 pm.

Announcements:

- Check out the Faculty Council webpage for links to resources in the community for wellness and practical tips https://facultycouncil.med.ufl.edu/.
- All faculty are welcome to attend any Faculty Council meetings
- Check out the Faculty Lounge in M-125. It's a place to meet colleagues, a place to roost between meetings and a quiet place to work. Yes, you can physically distance in the lounge.
- To schedule an appointment with the UFCOM Ombudsman for faculty, Dr. Keith Stone, email your request to stonek@ufl.edu, and simply include your name and contact information. To maintain confidentiality, use email only to schedule appointments.

The next Faculty Council Meeting will be held Tuesday, June 2, 2020 @ 5PM.

Minutes recorded by Melissa Liverman, Administrative Assistant, and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula and Dr. Emily Weber LeBrun.